Books of the trade

Pile of math books

Don’t be scared, this has not been turned into a photo blog!  Today I received my copy of Singular Integrals I ordered on-line recently, which is funny given that I have been reading that book for a long time now (at least now I won’t have to borrow a copy from the library or from a friend).

In any case, this reminded me of something I heard once: basically, that throughout the early years of your career as a mathematician, there will be a  list of books (that will depend strongly on your research interests) that you must read completely and in full detail to the point where you are be able to reproduce their contents on command. So, wondering what that list should be for me, I piled up some books from my book shelf and took a picture.

…perhaps I should be reading some of those books instead of writing this blog post

3 Responses to “Books of the trade”


  1. 1 Vicki Chang August 6, 2009 at 1:08 am

    I really like this photo. Were I to accumulate enough chemistry books I liked, I’d do the same.

  2. 2 Ngô Quốc Anh November 26, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Aubin’s books are always expensive :( but both interesting and useful :).

  3. 3 rrrq January 5, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I have read the fourth one and most part of 6th, but when I was trying to solve the exercises in the later on I lost my patience from the the chapter of the schauder theory…


Leave a Reply

